US House of Representatives

Republicans Release Top Democrat Targets for 2024

The National Republican Congressional Committee identified 37 Democrat-held House seats it will target in 2024 to expand their current slim majority.

The list, first shared with Politico, shows Republicans are ready to go on the offensive.

They currently hold the slimmest House majority in recent history with just four seats more than Democrats.

The slim lead emphasizes divisions within their ranks, as seen during the prolonged vote for House speaker as two distinct factions warred in a voting spree that nearly turned physical between Representatives Mike Rogers (AL) and Matt Gaetz (FL).

“Republicans are in the majority and on offense. We will grow our House majority by building strong campaigns around talented recruits in these districts who can communicate the dangers of Democrats’ extreme agenda,” NRCC Chairman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.) said in a statement. “These House Democrats should be shaking in their boots.”

Several of the target seats were won by just a few thousand votes in 2022, including those held by Representatives Yadira Caraveo of Colorado, Gabriel Vasquez of New Mexico, and Pat Ryan of New York.

The Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee issued its own list of most vulnerable members before the weekend. The NRCC is targeting all but one of the seats on the DCCC’s list and also a few additions.

The full list of NRCC targets follows:

(AK-AL) Mary Peltola
(CA-09) Josh Harder
(CA-47) Open (Porter)
(CA-49) Mike Levin
(CO-08) Yadira Caraveo
(CT-05) Jahana Hayes
(FL-09) Darren Soto
(IL-17) Eric Sorensen
(IN-01) Frank Mrvan
(KS-03) Sharice Davids
(ME-02) Jared Golden
(MI-03) Hillary Scholten
(MI-07) Open (Slotkin)
(MI-08) Dan Kildee
(MN-02) Angie Craig
(NC-01) Don Davis
(NC-13) Wiley Nickel
(NC-14) Jeff Jackson
(NH-01) Chris Pappas
(NM-02) Gabriel Vasquez
(NV-01) Dina Titus
(NV-03) Susie Lee
(NV-04) Steven Horsford
(NY-18) Pat Ryan
(OH-01) Greg Landsman
(OH-09) Marcy Kaptur
(OH-13) Emilia Sykes
(OR-04) Val Hoyle
(OR-06) Andrea Salinas
(PA-07) Susan Wild
(PA-08) Matt Cartwright
(PA-17) Chris Deluzio
(RI-02) Seth Magaziner
(TX-34) Vicente Gonzalez
(VA-07) Abigail Spanberger
(WA-03) Marie Gluesenkamp Perez
(WA-08) Kim Schrier

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Prison Choir ft. Donald Trump Tops Weekend Charts

Next Story

NYC ICE Office ‘Fully Booked’ for Ten Years